OUR KAYAKS

 

Dmitry

build two NANOOK kayaks from our plans

190cm, 97kg

"I want to thank you, this is a great project, great build guide.  The boats came out beautiful and practical, the stability is very good, the directional stability is on top, my friend and I are in complete admiration for the boats.  Thanks again for your great work!"

 

Jost

paddled NANOOK

179cm, 67kg

 

"First impression: the boat looks good and weighs impressively less when carried. It still looks absolutely stable and solid. Then out on the water: the large coaming makes it easy to get in. I sit low, have a pleasant amount of space for legs and feet. Backrest and footrests are exactly where they should be. I would prefer to put a cushion on the spartan wooden seat in the long run. The knees have good contact under the coaming. I quickly forget my initial shyness about simply putting my heels on the thin boat skin. Even when sitting inside, the boat seems well-balanced and solidly constructed, despite the light frame and the thin outer skin, which is unusual for me.


The first paddle strokes: The boat is stable due to the low seating position and rides easily, with very good directional stability. To steer, it is easy to edge and goes willingly in the desired direction, but with quite a large turning radius, as expected with the length and the little rocker. There was not much wind, but in a couple of light gusts I could not feel any susceptibility to wind - the sides and decks are low enough. Paddled a little harder, the boat pulls away impressively quickly and easily. Leaning to one side, with or without drive, is no problem even when the water is at the coaming. The boat shows a high final stability, even without paddle brace.


My conclusion: a very pleasant and effortless to drive, light and fast boat. The building instructions and plans are professionally done. The kit parts also look very good. They are fairly priced. I wonder if I will manage to build this beautiful boat myself? In the winter I will try it out!"

(translated from german)


if you have already built a NANOOK and would like to appear in our gallery, please send us your experiences with the construction and paddling or photos of the kayak!

rezensionen / Galerie

 

Dmitry

hat zwei NANOOK Kajaks mit unserem Bauplan gebaut

190cm, 97kg

"Ich möchte mich bei euch bedanken, das ist ein tolles Projekt, tolle Bauanleitung. Die Boote sind sehr schön und alltagstauglich, sie liegen stabil im Wasser und der Geradeauslauf ist top, mein Freund und ich sind begeistert von den Booten.  Nochmals vielen Dank für eure tolle Arbeit!"

(übersetzt aus dem Englischen)

 

Jost

ist im NANOOK gepaddelt

179cm, 67kg

 

"Erster Eindruck: das Boot sieht gut aus und wiegt beim Tragen beeindruckend wenig. Es sieht dennoch absolut stabil und solide aus. Dann auf dem Wasser: Durch den großen Süllrand ist der Einstieg leicht. Ich sitze tief, habe angenehm viel Platz für Beine und Füße. Rückenlehne und Fußstützen sind genau da, wo sie sein sollten. Auf den spartanischen Holzsitz würde ich mir auf Dauer lieber ein Polster legen. Die Knie haben guten Kontakt unter dem Süll. Meine anfängliche Scheu, die Fersen einfach auf die dünne Bootshaut zu setzen, vergesse ich schnell. Auch wenn man drinsitzt, wirkt das Boot ausgewogen und solide konstruiert, trotz des leichten Gerüsts und der für mich ungewohnt dünnen Außenhaut.

Die ersten Paddelschläge: Das Boot liegt durch die tiefe Sitzposition stabil und fährt sich leicht, mit sehr gutem Geradeauslauf. Zum Steuern lässt es sich gut ankanten und geht willig in die gewünschte Richtung, allerdings mit recht großem Kurvenradius, wie bei der Länge und dem geringen Kielsprung nicht anders zu erwarten. Es gab nur wenig Wind, aber bei ein paar leichten Böen konnte ich keine Windanfälligkeit spüren – die Bordwände und Decks sind niedrig genug. Etwas kräftiger gepaddelt, da zieht das Boot beeindruckend schnell und leicht los. Ankanten, mit oder ohne Fahrt, bis das Wasser am Süllrand steht, ist kein Problem. Das Boot zeigt eine hohe Endstabilität, auch ohne stärkeres Stützen.

Mein Fazit: Ein sehr angenehm und mühelos zu fahrendes, leichtes und schnelles Boot.

 

Die Bauanleitung und Baupläne sind professionell gemacht. Auch die Bausatzteile sehen sehr gut aus. Die Preise dafür sind fair kalkuliert. Ob ich es schaffe, dieses schöne Boot selbst zu bauen? Im Winter werde ich es ausprobieren!"

wenn du auch bereits ein NANOOK gebaut hast und in unserer Galerie erscheinen möchtest, schicke uns gerne Erfahrungen zum Bau oder Fotos vom Kajak!